

## Provincial developments in 1975

13.6.8

Newfoundland. The water-power resources of Newfoundland and Labrador are substantial. On the island, although the rivers are generally not long, topography and run-off favour hydro-electric power development and there are several potential hydro sites in Labrador in addition to sites on the Churchill River (Labrador), downstream of the Churchill Falls development.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission was established in 1954 to supply power wherever needed throughout the province. The commission began large-scale production of electric energy in 1967 when the Baie d'Espoir plant began operating and the provincial transmission grid was established. Power is supplied from this grid directly to several industries and to investor-owned electrical distribution companies for urban distribution. The Newfoundland Light and Power Company is the principal distributor. Bowater Power Company Limited supplies the Bowater Newfoundland Pulp and Paper Mills Limited and several mining operations. Electricity is provided to isolated areas by the Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission through a Rural Electricity Authority and through Power Distribution Districts, principally by means of diesel generating facilities.

During 1975, the province established a new power entity, the Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro Electric Corporation (Newfoundland Hydro) with three constituents: the Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation, Gull Island Power Company Limited and the Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission. The objective of the new corporation is to develop the hydro-electric resources of Newfoundland and Labrador.